Expanding Horizons

Last week I watched BBC’s Little Dorrit series. It was more like a 6 hour movie because once I got started, I couldn’t stop! I finished it around one in the morning and inevitably suffered for it 6 hours later. But it was amazingly GOOD and I just couldn’t shut it off. That night prompted me to later pick the original book, by no other than the great Charles Dickens, from the library. There is something about the classics that just pulls me in. That is until I find out that they are eight inches thick and I need a magnifying glass to read the words. However, I am determined to get through Little Dorrit especially since I know I already like the story. The movie did leave some holes and I would really like to get my questions about those filled.What does this have to do with you, you ask? Well, in all classic novellas’ are thousands of words that we typically do not use in this society. Some may not be so alien just maybe a little dusty; other perhaps you had no idea existed.This is about to change. Once a week , I shall post a new word for you to expand that vocabulary. Go out and shock the world by using words like vehemence, incoherence and tessellated.  Just make sure you know what they mean first. Thank you. :)  BBC tv series: http://www.amazon.com/Little-Dorrit-Claire-Foy/dp/B001PU8N0I/ref=sr_1_1?… The book: http://www.amazon.com/Little-Dorrit-Library-Essential-Reading/dp/1435116… For those of you who have a Kindle, it is free to download from Amazon!!!!

Leave a Reply

