Oh my word

PHYSIOGNOMY {fiz-ee-og-nuh-mee} n: referring to the face or countenance, especially when considered as an index to the character.

“The landlord, whether he was a good or a bad physiognomist, had fully made up his mind that the guest was an ill-looking fellow.” -Little Dorrit {page 169}

I find this amusing because my aunt was just telling me that she had come across this word in the book she is reading, Les Misérables by Victor Hugo. I just like saying it. It’s one of those fun-to-say words. I just have to remember how to pronounce it correctly.

Leave a Reply

