Morning thoughts

It’s one of those rainy, cloudy, dreary and cold days where you just want to dive back under the covers for a few more hours. Or grab a cup of tea, a good book and a blanket to curl up on the sofa. However, it is not one of the days for me. Currently I listen to the tumble of my dryer and think of the dishes in the sink waiting to be dried and put away. I think also of the heartburn I currently have and wonder how long I shall go before getting up and grabbing some tums. I don’t think it will be much longer.  :P

I was also thinking about the verse below that I read this morning during my quiet time with the Lord. I am currently working my way through the Old Testament and am in 2 Chronicles. The book about the kings of Israel and Judah who were mostly wicked. However this morning I read about Asa who was the great-grandson of King Solomon. Asa was a good king and during his reign he destroyed the places of idol worship throughout the land. God delivered him from his enemies in battle because the king cried out to Him. However later in his life, he strayed away from seeking the Lord’s guidance and help. Asa was rebuked by Hanani the seer who reminded him of what the Lord had done for him when the king sought after Him. He also told the king the consequences of relying upon himself {you can read all about this in 2 Chronicles chapters 14 through 16}.

It was just a good reminder to me to always seek the Lord in all things. No decision is too small, no worry too petty, no fear too ridiculous that we cannot bring them before Him.  But it was also a warning that if I do not seek the Lord, trying to go my own way, I will suffer the consequences of my own foolishness.

Hence the inspiration for this print {sorry it is so big…still working on the right size}:

Leave a Reply

