Freezer Jam

I did it, I did it, I did it!! Call me a dork but I’ve been wanting to make my own jelly/jam for a long time! I was thinking the whole big canning ordeal originally but then I discovered freezer jam! It was so easy to make; probably took me an hour max but that was because I didn’t quite know what I was doing.  It’s a little nerve-wracking waiting 24 hours to see if it set right but as long as you follow the directions all should be fine.

There are a few brands of pectin to choose from; this is the one I got.Figured if I was going to be messing with strawberries, an apron might be a good idea.Follow the directions from your pectin box! Make sure you read the one for “quick & easy freezer jams” because there is also directions for regular canning. Start with yummy strawberries. This recipe called for 4 pints of berries. I got 3 one pound packages but only used 2. Cut off the tops. Make sure your strawberries are nice and ripe.Blend them in a food processor/blender or crush them with a potato masher. If you blend, don’t puree. You want berry chunks in there. My recipe called for 4 cups of crushed berries.This is only halfway through and look at the mess I made. It gradually progressed to the stove and the other counters. It was an all consuming mess. But it was fun!I put 3 cups of sugar in a big pot.Mix in the pectin with your sugar, then add 1 cup of water and bring to boil on medium high heat. You have to stir it constantly.After you let it boil for 1 minute {while stirring}, remove from heat and add your berries right away. Stir for 1 minute.Then pour into your containers. I used miscellaneous jars that I had collected but you can also use Tupperware. Put the lids on and let them sit at room temperature for 24 hours to set and then put in fridge or freezer.I got a lot of jam & it is so yummy! Nom.nom.nom.

2 thoughts on “Freezer Jam

Leave a Reply

