Ablaze – The Series

Linking up with Erin at Sweetness Itself today! I’m pretty excited because it’s the first time I’ve ever done this.  I just really appreciated the Ablaze series this week along with the young ladies who have shared their hearts.  If you have no idea what I’m talking about or if you missed one or two days here is where you can catch up!

Monday: singleness

Tuesday: dating

Wednesday: on breaking up

Thursday:  marriage

I have been married for 3 1/2 years. This past January my husband and I were blessed with the birth of a beautiful baby girl.  She changed our lives forever{in a great way!}.  That being said, I’d like to share my perspective as a new mom and my daily walk with the Lord.

1.  Spend time with the Lord every day.  Don’t sacrifice this time! Yes, there will be times when the baby keeps you up all night and you can’t keep your eyes open. There will be times when the baby doesn’t nap like she’s supposed to and you have to care for her. Don’t get discouraged. Do what you can. This phase in your life isn’t forever {so cherish the moments!}. Even if it’s just a few minutes to read your Bible. You need this time for yourself {do I have the mind of Christ? is my heart right with Him? what can I learn from His Word today?}. You need this time as a wife {what does it mean to be a godly wife? how is my attitude towards my husband?}. You need this time as a mother {how do I discipline correctly? how do I show Christ’s love to my child?}.  I have found the mornings work the best for me; right after breakfast when baby girl is taking a nap. Sometimes the specific time varies but it’s usually around the same part of the day.

2. Pray specifically.  When I got married, my mom gave me this book. I love it because it has so many areas of life and shows you how to pray using Scripture. When I was pregnant, she gave me this one. Both have been helpful tools.  We need to be aware of the power of prayer and it’s affect on our lives. Also, we are commanded to never cease! The fact that we can, anytime, anywhere, petition our Heavenly Father just astounds me. {Philippians 4:6}

3. Memorize His Words.  I must confess that I have not done well in this area. I’ve always known that I needed to. In one word: laziness. Lately I found that working on a passage is easier for me to remember. If I work on a sentence up to the  punctuation mark, I memorize it along with the punctuation. Win-win? :P It is truly amazing how throughout the day His Words will come to me. Even ones I learned as a child are still in my heart and mind. And usually they will come to me in situations where I am about to lose it, need encouragement or can witness to another. His Word is powerful!  {1 Peter 3:15; 2 Timothy 2:15;  Hebrews 4:12; Psalm 119:11}

4. Surrender all to the Lord.  I noticed after becoming a mom that I worry way more than I use to! Recently I’ve been convicted because the Lord tells us over and over to “fear not.”  To continue to be fearful is a sin. Besides this, worrying does nothing to change the fact that I have control over nothing. All is in the hands of my Savior; I don’t need to worry! I know surrendering is something that I will have to do daily, maybe even moment by  moment at times, but His promises are always true! {Matthew 6:25-34; 1 John 4:18}

When I first starting writing down my thoughts, this post was about double in size {yes, I have a hard time narrowing down my points}. In closing I want to stress the face that I’m not perfect.  Being consistent in my time with Him isn’t  always “easy”; many times I allow ridiculous things to have priority over Him. It’s a daily choice. Christ is working on me at every moment and will be until He calls me home to Heaven.  I just hope that these words can be an encouragement to you.

6 thoughts on “Ablaze – The Series

  1. I love this! I really appreciate your perspective on pursuing Christ in motherhood, especially since none of us who wrote the previous four days are mothers, so we couldn’t address that. At the same time, so much of your advice applies to the other four stages we discussed this week. Thank you for your wisdom!

  2. Oh friend, I am so so happy you wrote this and linked up. Your words are so beautiful and your heart for Jesus really shines through. I love how you tied in motherhood – beautiful.
    Love you and so happy to know you!
    you’re a great example of a godly wife and momma :)

Leave a Reply

