The day I turned thief…

Yes. You read that correctly. I am a thief. But please believe me when I say it was not intentional!It was a completely normal day.  Baby girl and I were headed out to do grocery shopping. Events seemed to spiral downward after that. First off,  Store No.1 had this deal that I thought I could use with a BOGO coupon but, sparing  you all the nitty gritty details, it was going to cost me more than at Store No.3 so that was a completely worthless trip. At Store No.2 all I needed was rice and cinnamon. But they were out of cinnamon until Saturday so we left with our little bag of rice.

Lastly, at Store No.3, I had to go one side of the store to get body wash and then to the other side to get all my groceries. I went to get some water but someone was currently using the thing-a-ma-jig. So I went to grab some other stuff and realized that I’d forgotten to go to the customer service place to pick up my online order of baby wipes  {in the 700 count. oooooooh yeah.} Since there was no one there, I had to hunt someone down and then it took them awhile because the till wasn’t open, yada, yada, yada. Ten minutes later{baby girl was getting squirmy}, I went back to the water and there was someone ELSE there.  So I finished getting all my groceries, finally filling up my water jugs when I realized that I’d forgotten to get more vitamins! So back to the other side we went. This is where baby girl started yelling because she was tired and it was past her nap time. People were looking at us and as I cringed inside I mentally asked, “haven’t you ever seen a tired baby before?!”

I grabbed some vitamins and headed up to the only register open {there are pros and cons of going at 7:30 in the morning} with a nice but slow cashier with several people in front of me.  Finally it was my turn.  As the gal is checking out my items, I notice that the vitamins are all melted and mashed together in one solid lump {yes, chewables….I have issues swallowing…..pills}. So I tell her I don’t want them and then hand her two coupons. These she studies for about 5 minutes {Baby girl was still screaming on and off and I was alternately holding her and putting her back in the cart}. Then she goes off to ask someone about the coupons for about 5 more minutes before coming back and deducting them and I head off on my not-so-merry way.

Loading the groceries in the car I notice the body wash squashed and hidden behind the water jugs. It didn’t get scanned. It didn’t get make it up on the counter. My first thought was, “I am a thief. I just stole something!!!!”  The ten commandments rush through my head.  However, there was NO way I was going back in there with my crying baby and a trunk full of perishables to stand in the customer service line. So in my crazy mamma state of mind {which is completely frazzled by now} I buckled the baby in and went home.

Since I was in a terrible mood, I made myself spend time with Jesus so He could give me an attitude adjustment. Which He did. :) As I went back and paid for the body wash, I was reminded how great it feels to do what is right. Even such a little thing! Made me think of the song, “I have the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart…..”

The moral of this story would be: don’t let circumstances take away your happiness. There are so many more worse things that can happen to you  and I then an inconvenient shopping trip. :)

Do you have His joy today?

2 thoughts on “The day I turned thief…

  1. Haha!!! I have two kids and I do this too. My son who’s 2 will grab a cookie or I will have something in the stroller I forgot to hand to the clerk to have it rung up. It’s worse when they are unhappy and crying…. You just want to get outta there.

    MIA BOSSI diaper giveaway on my blog next month so follow me or stop by next month to enter!

    CHANEL handbag giveaway on http://www.fashion-a-holic.com

Leave a Reply

