Oh My Word

I started reading Emma last week {to get a head start on words, ya know} and I love it! It is ultimately my most favorite Jane Austen book.  There is A LOT of book to read but since I already know the story I think that makes it easier. {Did I say that about Little Dorrit too ? Oops.} I was all good intentions and planning to read the introduction since I never do. However, while on the first page, I took the liberty of flipping through to see how long it was. Bad idea. Ninety two pages. Not happening. There was even an explanation to the introduction! Needless to say our first word from Emma is:

Valetudinarian

an invalid, a person who is excessively concerned about his poor health.

“The evil of the actual disparity {lack of similarity}in their ages {Mr. Woodhouse had not married early} was much increased by his constitution and habits; for having been a valetudinarian all his life, without activity of mind or body, he was a much older man in ways than in years; and though every where beloved for the friendliness of his heart heart and his amiable temper, his talents could not have recommended him at any time.” Emma, part one, chapter one, page 5.

One thought on “Oh My Word

Leave a Reply

