It starts with a “P”…

Have I ever mentioned my habit of biting off more than I can chew?

Specifically when it comes to projects?

There are 4 stages that I go through:

  1. I come up with a neat idea, get super excited and dive right in.
  2. I get frustrated when I have to rip out 40 million stitches 5 time in a row & start asking myself questions like Why did I do this? What am I doing?
  3. Next I get mad throw it across the room & threaten it with solitary confinement forever and put it away for a very long time.
  4.  Lastly I get a new idea and/or a fresh start & finish the project. Doop-de-doop-de-doo 

It may or may not turn out the way I imagined. This is why my pictures are usually all different or not very good because I got lazy & took them with my phone instead of my camera. That being said, let me introduce you to my newest {as of today} completed project. After my favorite pair of cropped pants got ripped, I decided to make a purse out of them. {can we say attached?} Initially inspired by a purse of my sister’s, once I got started it just took on a life of it’s own.I was initially just going to make a tote bag. Then I came up with the brilliant idea to line it. Cotton would have been great. I chose silk. Never again. I also put pockets on the front {I was going to line those as well for an added detail. After ripping it out twice I decided detail was over rated}, which I love. I have to say I really like how it turned out. The funnest {not a word} thing for me is that it is entirely made of stuff I already had. Two different pairs of pants and the straps are a combination of old belts and leftover denim that I braided together. The lining was from my sister’s stash of fabric. There are a few things, now that I’ve finished, that I would do differently. There are quite a few raw edges showing on the inside & looking back I could have hidden them but it didn’t occur to me at the time. However, this one is sewn together for good. I’ll take notes for the next one.

The next one?

4 thoughts on “It starts with a “P”…

  1. Wow! You did a great job Abbey! I love the idea for the straps. How creative :-D.
    I like the idea of adding “funnest” to our vocabulary ;-P.

Leave a Reply

