Oh My Word

I mentioned last week that I was working through Middlemarch. It’s been rather dry but there have been a couple places that have made me laugh.  First, one of the main characters, Dorothea, is very “religious.” She is always excited to give something up for the sake of it and is very pious, etc.  She envisions herself married to a great man of intellect so that she may assist him in his work. Hence this quote,

She felt sure that she would have accepted the judicious Hooker {I have no idea who that was}, if she had been born in time to save him from that wretched mistake he made in matrimony; or John Milton when his blindness had come on; or any of the other great men whose odd habits it would have been glorious piety to endure; but an amiable handsome baronet, who said, “Exactly,” to her remarks even when she expressed uncertainty – how could he affect her as a lover? The really delightful marriage must be that where your husband was a sort of father and could teach you even Hebrew, if you wished it. “

Much to everyone’s dismay she rejects the amiable handsome baronet {of whom she was convinced was courting her sister, not her} and marries an old man 30+ years older than her.  Because he showed interest in her opinions and the like, she was convinced he would allow her to help him in his great work of writing a book on...something or another I can’t remember now.  However after they were married and settled down he didn’t really accept any help so I don’t think it was quite what she thought it was going to be.  If….I mean…when I finish the book I’ll have to let you know what happens.  That whole part about being taught Hebrew made me bust up laughing. But maybe it was just me. :P

Leave a Reply

