Let them eat….bread!

Last week my sister gave me a sour dough bread starter. I’ve had sour dough bread before and hubby is a huge fan of anything bread so yesterday I took the plunge.

For a starter recipe go here. You can either use all of your starter or just use part of it and continue to “feed” it so you always have some in your fridge. I don’t know how you do that exactly so make sure you check out the website!Mix all your ingredients together. I used a glass bowl and plastic spoons to mix. {I don’t know if sour dough has an aversion to metal or not.}   I put the flour in last, mixing one cup at a time. After the 4th cup it was pretty hard to stir so I kneaded in the 5th cup.After kneading your dough, put a little olive/vegetable oil in your bowl and rub in around your dough so that it won’t stick to the bowl {I did not do this so it was pretty sticky} when you take it out. Cover with a towel and allow to rise for about 90 minutes or until it’s double in size.Gently divide the dough in half; it’ll deflate somewhat. I put mine in bread pans {spray with cooking spray first!} but you can also do this:

Gently shape the dough into two oval loaves; or for longer loaves, two 10″ to 11″ logs. Place the loaves on a lightly greased or parchment-lined baking sheet.

Cover and let rise until very puffy, about 1 hour. Towards the end of the rising time, preheat the oven to 425F. My loaves didn’t get super puffy, just so ya know. But I did let it rise the full hour. Spray the loaves with lukewarm water {I just flicked water on them with my hand}. Make two fairly deep diagonal slashes in each; a serrated bread knife, works well here.Bake bread for 25-30 minutes or until it’s a very deep golden brown. Remove it from the oven, and cool on a rack. I popped mine out of the bread pans right away and covered them with a towel so the crust wouldn’t get super hard.  We had it for dinner that night and I probably could have eaten the entire loaf. But I didn’t. :P

Enjoy!For the full recipe go here.

Leave a Reply

