Pumpkin this, pumkin that…

I’ve definitely been enjoying the fall. Especially the pumpkins that come with it. Strangely enough, I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin pie. I usually eat one small piece with lots of whipped cream on top for Thanksgiving and I’m good for the year. What I like love, get excited about is the bread, muffins, pancakes and smoothies! Cooking a pumpkin is super easy. Cut it in half {that’s probably the hardest part} and scoop out all the seeds and the stringy stuff.  Make sure you save the seeds to cook for later! Put the two halves face down in a glass dish with 2 inches of water. Bake in the oven between 375-425F {I did mine at 400} for an hour. Or when the skin is puckery and you can poke through it with a fork really easy.Scoop it out and blend until you have a nice puree. Freeze in whatever increments you want. I did 1 cup freezer bags and got about 5 of them. If you want to try smoothies, I would recommend freezing some pumpkin in ice cube trays. Much easier to use that way!Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

