DIY: Crib rail protector

The Lord recently blessed us with a beautiful crib. No sooner had we put it up, baby boy started testing his teeth on it. I know, I know, it’s supposed to get used but of course I freaked out and wrapped blankets all around the rail. However, I didn’t want that to be a permanent solution. After looking on Pinterest and Google, I decided to dive in a try to make my own rail protector.

How hard could it be? {usually my famous last words}

I cheated a little bit, using a receiving blanket instead of buying fabric.  I get pretty excited when I can use something I already have AND it’s something I like. I am really into the chevron pattern plus grey is a great neutral for boy or girl.

First I measure my crib rail. I measure a few times just to make sure I had it correct. {sometimes my brain plays tricks on me}

1The green flannel blanket I used for my lining. If it’s not thick enough to “protect” it’ll be pretty fabric on top with teeth marks still in your nice wood rail.

2I cut both blankets in half and sewed the halves together to make one long piece. {A word of advice: always, always, always PRESS YOUR SEAMS. It’s a boring hassle and annoying but it will make your life 100 times easier while sewing.}

3Next, I pinned the two pieces wrong sides together, sewing them together to make one piece.

4The green flannel’s thickness was just right but it was also lumpy and hard to make lay flat even after pinning. I do have a few places that bubble a little because of this.

5{If at any point in time you wonder, “why is she doing it that way?” or “why is she making all that extra work for herself?” I am not a pro and am only following what my brain is telling me makes sense. Due to this I sometimes end up doing things two or three or four or five times before it comes out the way I want……or any way that works.}

6I folded the fabric in half putting right sides together and pinning it in place. More advice: you will save yourself tears of frustration if you remember to leave an opening so you can flip it right side out when you are done.

7After flipping it right side out, I took out my lining stitches because some of them were showing on the outside. I hand tacked my ribbon in place and sewed my opening closed.

8Then I sewed a top stitch over the whole thing {I LOVE how the zig-zag stitch came out} which went over my ribbon again. Gotta make it strong!

9Ta da! It’s definitely NOT perfect but it turned out better than I thought it would {I was very doubtful half way into it}

11And so far, so good. Baby boy hasn’t really tried to yank or pull yet.10

 

 

One thought on “DIY: Crib rail protector

Leave a Reply

